HASTINGS BOROUGH COUNCIL APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES – AS OF COUNCIL ON 4 JUNE 2014 POLITICAL BALANCE RULES APPLY TO COMMITTEES

FOLITICAL BALANCE ROLLS AFFET TO				APPOINTMENT	NOTES	
COMMITTEE	SEATS TO BE FILLED	ALLOCATION TO POLITICAL GROUPS		LABOUR GROUP	CONSERVATIVE GROUP	
		LAB	CON			
Cabinet	Up to 10			Birch (Chair) Chowney (Vice-Chair) Cartwright Forward Hodges Poole Westley	Cooke Lock	1 member from the majority group to be a non-portfolio holder and to Chair the Charity Committee.
Audit Committee	5	4	1	Clark (Vice-Chair) Birch (ex officio) Charman Webb	Beaver	The Leader of the Council, who shall not be the Chair, is a member ex officio. With the exception of the above, members of this Committee may not be members of Cabinet. The Chair may not be in the same political group as the Leader of the Council.
Council Appointments Committee	5	4	1	Chowney (Chair) Birch Cartwright Westley	Cooke	
Standards Committee	5 (+ 2 indepen dents)	4	1	Roberts (Chair) Webb (Vice-Chair) Street Rogers	Cooke	No more than 1 Cabinet member who is not to be the Leader. Members may not appoint substitutes.

SCHEDULE A

				APPOINTMENTS	NOTES	
COMMITTEE	ITTEE SEATS TO BE FILLED		CATION LITICAL DUPS	LABOUR GROUP	CONSERVATIVE GROUP	
		LAB	CON			
Employment Appeals Committee	4	3	1	Beaney (Chair) Webb (Vice-Chair) Dowling	Edwards	
Employment Committee	4	3	1	Birch (Chair) Chowney Poole	Edwards	
Overview and Scrutiny Committee - Services	7	5	2	Davies (Chair) Fitzgerald (Vice-Chair) Charman Scott Turner	Edwards Pragnell	No Cabinet Member may sit on O & S Committees. Mayor and Deputy Mayor not eligible for membership. Political Balance applies to Chairs and Vice-Chairs of O&S Committees
Overview and Scrutiny Committee - Resources	7	5	2	Webb (Chair) Howard (Vice-Chair) Batsford Roberts Sinden	Atkins Beaver	No Cabinet Member may sit on O & S committees Mayor and Deputy Mayor not eligible for membership. Political Balance applies to Chair and Vice-Chairs of O&S Committees

SCHEDULE A

	SEATS TO BE FILLED			APPOINTMENTS FOR 2014/15		NOTES
COMMITTEE		ALLOCATION TO POLITICAL GROUPS		LABOUR GROUP	CONSERVATIVE GROUP	
Licensing Committee	15	11	4	Sabetian (Chair) Batsford (Vice-Chair) Beaney Charman Dowling Fitzgerald Howard Roberts Sinden Webb Wincott	Atkins Charlesworth Lee Pragnell	No Cabinet member with Portfolio. No more than 5 members of Planning Committee. Chair and Vice-Chair not to be elected from members of the Planning Committee.
Planning Committee	10	7	3	Street (Chair) Scott (Vice-Chair) Beaney Dowling Roberts Rogers Wincott	Beaver Edwards Lee	No Cabinet member with portfolio
Environment and Safety Committee	5	4	1	Roberts (Chair) Rogers (Vice-Chair) Dowling Street	Charlesworth	No Cabinet member with Portfolio.